News October  23, 2017

LQHBA Members: Immediate Legislative Action Needed


LQHBA Members are asked to call and email the members of the Louisiana House Appropriations Committee today.



ALEXANDRIA, LA—APRIL 21, 2016—House Bill 986, sponsored by Rep. John Schroder, is scheduled to be heard in the Louisiana House Appropriations Committee on Monday, April 25th at 9:30 am.

This bill redirects the Video Poker Purse Supplement Fund, causing Louisiana Bred purses to decline annually.

LQHBA Members are asked to call and email the members of the Louisiana House Appropriations Committee listed below.

  • Ask them to keep the video poker purse supplement fund directed to the horse industry
  • Tell them our industry has a $2.5 Billion dollar impact to our State
  • Tell them if funds are undedicated – then the stability/uncertainty in the horse industry will more than likely create job loss om the state of Louisiana
  • Tell them how much you appreciate them standing up for the horse industry

House Appropriations Committee Members:

Abraham, Mark
130 Jamestown Road
Lake Charles, LA 70605
(337)475-3016
abrahamm@legis.la.gov

Amedée, Beryl
302 School St.
Houma, LA 70360
(985)858-2967
amedeeb@legis.la.gov

Armes, James K.
2255 University Pkwy.
Leesville, LA 71446
(337)238-7004
armesj@legis.la.gov

Bacala, Tony
15482 Airline Hwy. Suite A
Prairieville, LA 70769
(225) 677-8020
bacalat@legis.la.gov

Bagley, Larry
671 Hwy. 171 Suite E
Stonewall, LA 71078
(318) 925-9588
bagleyl@legis.la.gov

Berthelot, John A.
1024 S. Purpera
Gonzales, LA 70737
(225) 647-5646
berthelotj@legis.la.gov

Billiot, Robert E.
#10 Westbank Expressway
Westwego, LA 70094
(504)436-8929
billiotr@legis.la.gov

Carter, Gary
3520 General DeGaulle Suite 3071
New Orleans, LA 70114
(504) 361-6600
carterg@legis.la.gov

Chaney, Charles R.
P.O. Box 8
Rayville, LA 71269
(318) 728-5875
chaneyb@legis.la.gov

Edmonds, Rick
3931 S. Sherwood Forest Blvd. Suite 200
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
(225) 295-9240
edmondsr@legis.la.gov

Foil, Franklin J.
412 N. 4th St. Suite 220
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
(225) 342-6777
foilf@legis.la.gov

Harris, Lance
P.O. Box 13555
Alexandria, LA 71315-3555
(318) 767-6095
harrisl@legis.la.gov

Henry, Cameron
1539 Metairie Road Suite A
Metairie, LA 70005
(504) 838-5433
henryc@legis.la.gov

Hensgens, Bob
407 Charity Street
Abbeville, LA 70510
(337) 893-5035
hensgensb@legis.la.gov

Hodges, Valarie
35055 La. Hwy. 16 Suite 2A
Denham Springs, LA 70706
(225) 791-2199
hodgesv@legis.la.gov

Leger, Walt III
935 Gravier St. Suite 2150
New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 556-9970
legerw@legis.la.gov

McFarland, Jack
P.O. Box 143
Jonesboro, LA 71251
(318) 259-4275
mcfarlandj@legis.la.gov

Miguez, Blake
410 N. Broadway St.
Erath, LA 70533
(337) 937-8827
miguezb@legis.la.gov

Miller, Dustin
1115 S. Union St.
Opelousas, LA 70570
(337) 943-2900
millerd@legis.la.gov

Pylant, Steve E.
805 Jackson St. Suite A
Winnsboro, LA 71295
(318) 435-7313
pylants@legis.la.gov

Richard, Jerome
907 Jackson Street
Thibodaux, LA 70301
(985) 447-0999
richardj@legis.la.gov

Schroder, John M.
522 N. New Hampshire St.
Covington, LA 70433
(985) 893-6262
schrodej@legis.la.gov

Simon, Scott M.
P.O. Box 1297
Abita Springs, LA 70420
(985) 893-6246
simons@legis.la.gov

Smith, Patricia Haynes
251 Florida Street Suite 300
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
(225) 342-7106
smithp@legis.la.gov

Zeringue, Jerome
423 Goode St.
Houma, LA 70360
(985) 876-8823
zeringuej@legis.la.gov

"Members, we must continue our support. The power of numbers is much stronger than one individual," LQHBA Executive Director Tony Patterson said today.

To find who your Legislators are CLICK HERE.


Courtesy Ses