News October  22, 2017

LQHBA Legislative Call To Action


LQHBA members are urged to contact their State Representatives and Senators on upcoming legislation that could impact the racing industry in their state.



BATON ROUGE, LA—APRIL 24, 2015—The LQHBA has issued a "Call to Action" for it's membership on two Bills that have been recently introduced.

State Representative Joe Harrison-R introduced HB 596 requiring all gaming proceeds dedicated to the Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association, the Louisiana Thoroughbred Breeders Association, and the Louisiana Quarter Horse Breeders Association be sent to the state treasurer for deposit in the newly created Horse Industry Economic Sustainability Fund, but otherwise retains the dedications and uses of these proceeds.

The Bill is scheduled in the House Commerce Committee for Tuesday morning, April 28th.

"We must OPPOSE this Bill as it redirects breeders awards funds, purses and HBPA funds," Tony Patterson LQHBA Executive Director said.

LQHBA Members are urged to contact the House Commerce Committee members and ask them to OPPOSE HB 596.

HOUSE COMMERCE COMMITTEE

Name Member email Phone Fax
Carmody, Thomas carmodyt@legis.la.gov (318) 862-9956 (318) 862-9958
Cox, Kenny R. coxk@legis.la.gov (855) 844-8583 (318) 357-3208
Hall, Jeffrey "Jeff" hallj@legis.la.gov (318) 487-5661 (318) 487-5506
Harris, Lance harrisl@legis.la.gov (318) 767-6095 (318) 767-6097
Harrison, Joe harrisoj@legis.la.gov (800) 935-2081 (985) 655-9011
Havard, Kenneth E. havardk@legis.la.gov (225) 634-7470 (225) 634-7477
Hollis, Paul hollisp@legis.la.gov (985) 871-4680 (985) 871-4682
Jackson, Katrina R. jacksonk@legis.la.gov (318) 362-5123 (318) 362-5125
Kleckley, Chuck larep036@legis.la.gov (337) 475-3016 (337) 475-3018
Leger, Walt III legerw@legis.la.gov (504) 556-9970 (504) 556-9972
Miguez, Blake miguezb@legis.la.gov (337) 937-8827 (337) 937-8829
Morris, John C. "Jay" morrisjc@legis.la.gov (318) 362-4270 (318) 362-4277
Ortego, Stephen J. ortegos@legis.la.gov (337) 886-4687 (337) 886-4689
Ourso, Darrell P. oursod@legis.la.gov (225) 756-3420 (225) 756-3423
Pierre, Vincent J. pierrev@legis.la.gov (337) 262-2330 (337) 262-2332
Ponti, Erich E. pontie@legis.la.gov (225) 362-5301 (225) 362-5303
Price, Edward J. pricee@legis.la.gov (225) 644-6750 (225) 644-6750
Pugh, Stephen E. pughs@legis.la.gov (985) 386-7844 (985) 386-5669
Reynolds, Eugene reynoldsg@legis.la.gov (318) 371-3092 (318) 371-3093
Talbot, Kirk talbotk@legis.la.gov (504) 736-7299 (504) 736-7113
Woodruff, Ebony woodruffe@legis.la.gov (504) 361-6972 (504) 361-6971

"If your Representative is one of these committee members, please have others that live in your district contact them as well," Patterson added.

The second Bill SB 135 sponsored by Senator Barrow Peacock-R could be voted on in the Senate Judiciary B Committee on Tuesday, April 28 or Tuesday, May 5. SB 135 drastically reduces the total number of racing days at Harrah’s Louisiana Downs.

"We must OPPOSE this Bill as it drastically reduces our racing days at Harrah’s Louisiana Downs," Patterson said.

LQHBA members are asked to contact the Judiciary B committee members and ask them to OPPOSE SB 135.

JUDICIARY B COMMITTEE

Senator Jean-Paul J. Morrell (Chairman)
New Orleans Lakefront Terminal Building
6001 Stars & Stripes Blvd., Suite 221
New Orleans, LA 70126

(504) 284-4794
morrelljp@legis.la.gov
Senator Ronnie Johns (Vice-Chairman)
1011 Lakeshore Drive
Suite 515
Lake Charles, LA 70601

(337) 491-2016
johnsr@legis.la.gov
Senator Norbčrt N. "Norby" Chabert
P.O. Box 2417
Houma, LA 70361

(985) 858-2927
chabertn@legis.la.gov
Senator Eric LaFleur
P.O. Box 617
Ville Platte, LA 70586

(337) 363-5019
lafleure@legis.la.gov
Senator Karen Carter Peterson
1409 OC Haley Blvd.
Suite C
New Orleans, LA 70113

(504) 568-8346
petersonk@legis.la.gov
Senator Gary Smith
P.O Box 189
Norco, LA 70079

(985) 764-9122
smithgl@legis.la.gov

"Remember – if your Senator is one of these committee members, please have others that live in your district contact them as well, Patterson added.

To find your Louisiana legislators Click Here.

Courtesy Ses